• warmara88

A History of What Comes Next by Sylvain Neuvel


A History of What Comes Next by Sylvian Neuvel is the first book in the Take Them to the Stars series.


Always run, never fight.

Preserve the knowledge.

Survive at all costs.

Take them to the stars.


For 99 generations, Mia's family has followed these rules. Their bloodline is special, different from humans and so they stand apart, even as they change the shape of the world from behind the scenes. Now it is Mia's turn to take the reigns and push man toward the stars.


But the why behind their mission was lost long ago and Mia begins to question all her mother has passed to her. Even so, Mia infiltrates Nazi Germany to rescue a brilliant German scientist, specializing in rocketry. But getting to the stars will cost Mia much and the way, will be bloody.


Fighting against Mia and her mother is a ruthless enemy, with a set of rules all their own. Can the 99 survive at all costs when they are being hunted in a world that is already pushed to the brink of destruction?


This dark satire about the space race, violence and the nature of man, puts a spin on first contact thrillers and was just a really interesting read. I don't normally do this but other reviewers have said that this book is perfect for fans of Blake Crouch and Andy Weir, and it soo is! If you like the dark humor and sci-fi satirical nature of these other authors, then this book is right up your ally.


You can tell Neuvel put a lot of research into this book because, extra terrestrial moves aside, it is hard to tell where history and fiction blend. The pace of the book is quick and this helps to create a sense of urgency that the 99 seriously need to get humanity to the stars before the whole world goes to shit--even if they don't exactly know what that catastrophe is going to be.


I don't think this book is going to be for everyone. Just like the heavy physics and science aspects of Crouch and Weir aren't for everyone. But sci-fi nerds are sure to love it and maybe even some history buffs too. I, personally, just loved this dark take on rocketry and the idea of someone working behind the scenes to influence the path history is going to take.


Mia is also this strong female character, who is determined to think for herself, even though 98 generations before her have brought her to this point. She wants a life, even though she knows she has a duty to perform. She's also blunt and also badass.


I can't wait for this next book to come out. I'll be waiting for it Neuvel! This one gets 4.5 stars from me.


That's all for now!

-M-

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All